NSPA Recognizes 11 Va. Yearbooks as Pacemaker Finalists


Nearly a dozen Virginia schools have been named 2017 Pacemaker finalists in the yearbook category by the National Scholastic Press Association. With 11 yearbooks recognized, Virginia is second only to Texas on this year’s list.

Described in a press release as the association’s “preeminent award,” the Pacemaker is also “one of the oldest awards for scholastic journalism.”

Out of 525 yearbooks entered into the competition, the organization chose only 55 schools across the nation for recognition as finalists.

According to the press release, NSPA recognizes books not just for their quality but also for staffs’ ability to push the envelope of student journalism: “In addition to demonstrating excellence in key areas including coverage, writing, editing, design and photography, the winning yearbooks took risks and told the story of the school year with a strong verbal and visual voice.”

NSPA will recognize finalists, and name 24 winners, at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention, to be held this April in San Francisco.

VAJTA would like to congratulate the following Virginia schools for each earning a spot on the Pacemaker finalist list:

  • The Lair, Lake Braddock Secondary School, Burke, VA
  • Odyssey, Chantilly High School, Chantilly, VA
  • Above and Beyond, Robinson Secondary School, Fairfax, VA
  • Saltshaker, Trinity Christian School, Fairfax, VA
  • Columbian, George C. Marshall High School, Falls Church, VA
  • The Buzzer, Brookville High School, Lynchburg, VA
  • The Clan, McLean High School, McLean, VA
  • The Legend, Atlee High School, Mechanicsville, VA
  • Saga, Loudoun Valley High School, Purcellville, VA
  • Laconian, Salem High School, Salem, VA
  • The Legacy, Potomac Falls High School, Sterling, VA

For more information, visit NSPA’s complete list of honorees.