Virginia Assocation of Journalism Teachers & Advisers

VAJTA Awards

VAJTA recognizes teachers, advisers, organizations and other professionals who have contributed to excellence in journalism education in Virginia. Please click the links below to see past winners and to submit nominations for our 2022 award series.

Washington and Lee Young Adviser Award recognizes individuals in their first five years of advising student media in Virginia. The award celebrates success and dedication to the cause of scholastic journalism.

Douglass S. Freeman Award recognizes contributions to the Commonwealth’s publications and to journalism education. The award honors teachers who have devoted a minimum of five years to VAJTA or to enhancing the journalism education of staff members of Virginia school publications.

Virginia Gazette Award  recognizes individuals who have contributed ten or more years of continued service to journalism education and publications advising. Their publications consistently maintain journalism standards as they set high goals for achievement by both themselves and their staffs.

Thomas Jefferson Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism Education recognizes advisers and others who have made significant contributions to scholastic journalism throughout their careers.

Virginia Association of Journalism Teachers and Advisers Award recognizes organizations that have furthered scholastic journalism in Virginia.

Administrator of the Year recognizes school administrators who have furthered the goals of journalism education in Virginia through the support they provide to teachers, advisers and students. These individuals model the leadership and policy expertise that allow student media to thrive and make a difference.