Virginia Assocation of Journalism Teachers & Advisers

jDay 2016 Winners

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Congratulations to all of the 2016 JDay Write-Off winners!

List of 2016 Winners by Category:

Best of Show

  • Newspaper: The Newsstreak, Harrisonburg High School
  • Newsmagazine: tjTODAY, TJHSST
  • Website:
  • Yearbook: The Clan, McLean HS


1. Kaitlyn Cue, Harrisonburg HS

2. Lama Al Rajih, McLean HS


Honorable Mention: Irene Liu, Harrisonburg HS

Caption Writing

  1. Puja Basnet, South Lakes HS
  2. Sania Shahid, McLean HS
  3. Nick Crow, West Potomac HS


  1. Sudharshana Krishnan, Chantilly HS
  2. Erica Schipper, Hayfield Secondary
  3. Amanda Young, South Lakes HS

Editorial Writing

  1. Ashwin Dasgupta, McLean HS
  2. Maggie Markon, Hayfield Secondary
  3. Elizabeth Goldsworthy, Hayfield Secondary

Feature Writing

  1. Liam Zeya, McLean HS
  2. Lauren Miller, Hayfield Secondary
  3. Amy Zelaya, West Potomac HS


  1. Bryan Chung, McLean HS

News Writing

  1. Shahtaj Ali, West Potomac HS
  2. Siddarth Shankar, McLean HS
  3. Melanie Pincus, McLean HS

Newspaper Design

  1. Katherine Du, TJHSST
  2. Honorable Mention: Amelia Gulding, Robinson Secondary


  1. Camilla Brinton, Loudoun County HS
  2. Johyun Kim, Tuscarora HS; Brenda Zambrana, South Lakes HS
  3. Honorable Mention: Samantha Taherian, McLean HS

Sports Writing

  1. John Corvari, McLean HS
  2. Haru Kato, McLean HS
  3. Mackenzie Para, West Potomac HS

Yearbook Design

  1. Sveta Jagannathan, TJHSST
  2. Honorable Mention: Sabrina Caceras, South Lakes HS
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

1 Comment

One Response to “jDay 2016 Winners”

  1. Rubina Afsar on November 14th, 2016 10:21 pm

    Yay Shahtaj!


If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.


Navigate Right
Navigate Left
  • jDay 2016 Winners


    Above the Fold and Beyond

  • jDay 2016 Winners

    Lesson Plans, Ideas and Resources

    “The Trials of a Scold” Giveaway

  • jDay 2016 Winners

    jRetreat 2018

    Join Us for the Fourth Annual Adviser Retreat

  • jDay 2016 Winners


    Furnas Named 2017 VAJTA Award Winner

  • jDay 2016 Winners


    JEA NSPA Partner Project

  • jDay 2016 Winners


    McLean High School’s Melanie Pincus named Virginia Journalist of the Year

  • jDay 2016 Winners


    Covering the 2017 Presidential Inauguration

  • jDay 2016 Winners

    JCamp Information

    Register for JCamp! July 15-19, 2018 at JMU

  • jDay 2016 Winners

    JCamp Information

    jCamp 2016

  • jDay 2016 Winners


    CSPA Names Sixteen Va. Publications to Crown Finalist List

jDay 2016 Winners